• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV

  • Category: 

    Cafes in Chennai

  •  
  • 47 B, Velachery Main Road, Velachery, Chennai
  • Landmark:  Near Velachery Police Station

Reviews of Cafe Tapas

first reviewed by jnaut

Review Highlights

  • PhoenixMaddy PhoenixMaddy
  • Tasty but a lot to be concerned about. Jun 10, 2012

    Recently been there to try out their Macaroni Mania. First locating the place tediuos, make it double the pain, when you are searching for it in the summer afternoon. After 30 minutes of search reached the place. Found the place to very ambient and quiet. Tried their library not many books, but still can be used during the wait. The waiter offered me a glass of water, but never switched ON the A/C or fan(atleast). I have to ask him to turn it on. I ordered the Macaroni Mania and Choco Almond Coffee shake. Macaroni tasted good and shake was pathetic... The shake tasted like it was 'stirred, not... read more

  • RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Jai R, on Jun 10, 2012 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Dear Phoenix Maddy,

    We, at Cafe Tapas, thank you for having searched, located and visited Cafe Tapas and having taken the time out to write a review. We are pleased that your first burrp review is about us

    We take all the reviews seriously and so though we were concerned about your review and the rating, we are glad that you have highlighted some of our pluses.You have a very nice word about our quiet ambience and our library of 35 books which most of our guests have enjoyed reading. In fact, some of the books have been donated by our wonderful guests. Based on your input, we...read more

    Replied by: PhoenixMaddy, on Jun 10, 2012 Flag this

    PhoenixMaddy
    Well that was fast response. About the shake, I am sure you got what I mentioned"stirred not shaken", It was not even close to being creamy.... Word about the fan, I took the menu from the counter and placed the order and I waited for quite sometime for fan to be turned ON, finally I have to request for the same.

    About the book, I looked only one shelf, I could suggest some books, that involves history, pictorial encyclopedia(for the kids and some adults as well), etc...

    Thanks again for the fast response.

    Note : This is my first comment in burrp using this account,...read more
    RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Jai R, on Jun 11, 2012 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Thank you for the clarification. Points Taken and will definitely work on it.

    As said earlier, hope this experience does not stop you from visiting us. Looking forward to hosting you and also your review.

    Warm reagrds
    Jai
  • sandya.42 sandya.42
  • If u can stomach spoiled food served with a smile! Apr 01, 2012

    I was pretty thrilled about finding this quiet, cozy place a coupla months ago and was a frequent visitor. They have comfy seating, a pleasant ambience and passable food; the draw for me being the small but very interesting collection of books in their library. I was enthusiastically recommending this place to friends looking for an inviting place away from the crowds to curl up with a book and some comfort food; left eating my words now! I was served thoroughly curdled milk in my passion fruit tea today; a good part of which I unsuspectingly drank as i was ordering it for the first time n wasn't... read more

  • RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Jai R, on Apr 01, 2012 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Dear Ms Sandya,

    Read your review and am very concerned about your experience at Cafe Tapas today. Please accept our apologies for the incident that occurred today.

    It is very concerning when any of our guests, let alone a regular and a brand ambassador, has a sub par experience. While we take steps to ensure that we provide our guests a great experience( as you pointed out), we have realised that despite our best efforts, accidents happen.

    We will look into the matter and ensure that this never happens in the future.

    Realize this incident has upset you and right...read more
  • velandi velandi
  • Great place for a queit coffee with books Jan 29, 2012

    I love this place spend some time for yourself reading, coffee and tarts

  • dnv23 dnv23
  • Need to Improve a lot! Sep 09, 2011

    We dropped by to grab a quick bite of the Snapdeal voucher which includes unlimited sandwiches, burger, pasta, milk shake and coffee..

    - Our bad luck may be, but no wheat based buns, breads were there..
    - only one food item can be ordered unlimited but looks like 2 times is 'unlimited' for the staff..
    - Pasta i.e; Macaroni was the most pathetic we have ever tasted in this area..pre made macaroni reheated and served..how healthy is it for anyone, dunno..
    - Paneer wrap was oily, with barely any filling inside, portion served wasn't good, but thank goodness it was made of whole
    ... read more

  • RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Jai R, on Sep 09, 2011 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Dear dnv23

    Let me thank you for having visited our cafe and for having taken time out to send us your feedback. We are concerned that your experience wasn't the usual Cafe Tapas Experience.
    We at Cafe Tapas ensure that our guests enjoy and exprience our cafe as you can see from the feedback received. We have received high ratings for our service and ambience and are among the top rated cafes in burrp and timescity.

    In the two years that we have been running the cafe, this is the first negative comment that we have received. Without going into the specifics, realise that your...read more
  • srividya srividya
  • Yummy Tapas Nov 13, 2010

    It is said that praying and eating should be done in a calm and serene place, which is not the case today. At a time when temples and restaurants are filled with people, Cafe Tapas is the ideal place to munch in a leisurely manner with your family.

    The other best thing is the friendly service rendered by Sudarsan and Pradeep.

    One small drawback people find is the lack of parking space for four-wheelers.

  • Stan1 Stan1
  • Great Place! Oct 21, 2010

    Cafe Tapas is a great place to go with friend or even go alone and spend time. The ambience is good and the drinks are excellent. The price, very cheap. You can sit there and listen to soothing instrumental music, play a game of chess, test your mind with puzzles or read some books from the collection they've got. I make sure i go there atleast once a week and have my favorite macaroni. Just love everything you get there. And the best is the hospitality that you get there, very good. All the best to you.
    Cheers. :)

  • SShenoy SShenoy
  • CT Rocks! :) Oct 21, 2010

    The first thing that reminds me of Cafe Tapas is the service they offer with a topping of smile and warmth! :)
    Been there twice so far and its a place where one can be with oneself. With a mini library of books to read and a splendid menu to choose from, what more can one ask. Be it in a group or all alone, CT is definitely up there on the list of places to be at.
    Its been a great going guys...Brew on! :)

  • leoprabhu leoprabhu
  • Good People Oct 20, 2010

    I was there on a Sunday evening with my friend and to my delight the place was not crowed, thanks to the interior location else its a challenge to find free space @ cafe. The best part of Cafe Tapas is the people ... I guess three of them were on the floor and they got this endless smile, down to earth attitude and humble approach. Food is worth the money and nice ambiance with good collection of books. However can work bit more on the interiors and wash room as well. And please serve water in glassware. Overall a great experience... Good going guys, Keep it up !

    PS: Please correct the
    ... read more

  • shammeer shammeer
  • Sudharsan,Pradeep,Jai,Promod are the best Oct 20, 2010

    There is a lot of connect in cafe tapas that works for me:) below is why cafe tapas work for me..

    1.Primarily its the peace you buy.. there is no rush wattsoever..:)
    2.People out there.. be it sudh.. pradeep. jai or promod.. you just feel home there:)
    3.experimenting food.. there is no straightaway orders..:)
    4.We had ranam sugam launch here.. and ranam sugam worked big time:)
    5.On a random weekend.. one of us said.. its been long since we had been to cafe tapas:).. cafe tapas.. here we come:)

  • sush_abc sush_abc
  • Awesome Place Oct 20, 2010

    Its right across the road from where I live : Thats the reason why i initially wanted to go to this place.. The reviews were good as well. I wasnt disappointed, the interiors are cool ..The books, though a bit outdated, are a nice and refreshing change .. they have some custom Handicrafts available for sale ..
    Now about the food ..I love their nirvana@99 combo ..Its quite filling and yummy, Its a veggie place so Non Veggies might not enjoy it much ..I loved it though .. have been there twice already in the past week !
    Service wise the people are very very courteous and always smiling,patie
    ... read more



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Chennai : All Zones| Chennai
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Chennai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :