• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV

Reviews of Kumarakom

first reviewed by sansmerci

Review Highlights

  • Horrible Food Experience.

    Please don't visit this restauarnt with much expectations since the taste of food supplied here is not up to the mark.

  • Food not good

    Nothing much to write about the ambiance, but all neat and spaced out. And the staff seemed eager to serve. So far, so good.

  • kumarakam kumarakam
  • Horrible Food Experience. Sep 16, 2013

    I had been to kumarakom restaurant for an Onam meal package along with my better half. Through my pals I had been urged to build up a huge expectation which was totally shattered with the first intro of the kerala rice 'urula' into my mouth. All the side dishes of the so called 'sumptous Onam Meals' lacked sufficient sour and salt. The Sambar was horrible and the pachadi and Kalan had gone stale. For the not so democratic bill (Rs. 721 for 2 sets of meals) they could have paid a little more care to cater some food at least moderately palatable. We had to desert the restaurant with half filled... read more

  • Vibgyor10 Vibgyor10
  • Food not good Apr 28, 2013

    We went for lunch with office folks on a weekday. It was about 10 of us. When we entered the place seemed clean, not much hustle-bustle (it was less than half full). Nothing much to write about the ambiance, but all neat and spaced out. And the staff seemed eager to serve. So far, so good.

    In comes food. With the 10 of us, we ordered almost 20 different items (starters, mains, sides etc). None of it got a comment - "this is good". Some of the dishes had same curries as base, just changed the vegetables. We ended up ordering more breads we could eat, as "what to eat with.. '. So to sum
    ... read more

  • nikhilsebastian nikhilsebastian
  • Good kerala food! Mar 31, 2013

    Visited this place as it was walking distance from the guest house where we were put up. Ordered the kappa and meen curry and the karimeen pollichathu. Th kappa was a little bland and lacked salt. The meen curry was really good. Not over spicy.

    The karimeen pollichathu was yummy too. The filling in the fish just lifted the fish totally.

    The service was good. The place as such is good too. Nothing to rave about though.

    4/5

  • ShakuntalaSuraj ShakuntalaSuraj
  • Bad Food and Terrible Service Nov 17, 2012

    Karimeen that we ordered was extremely spicy and had no other flavors, it was as if they dipped it in chilli paste and served to us. When we complained about the super hot spice, they said that's how they make it everyday (so deal with it!!)
    Rest of the order was quite as flavorless too.

  • marshalkar marshalkar
  • Pathetic service and poor food Apr 22, 2012

    The worst and pathetic service in the city. The way they treat is too worst. The food was too bad and unhygienic. I would not recommend this place to any one.

  • mtmani mtmani
  • Once is ok. Apr 12, 2012

    Had chappathi with pepper chicken masala in the evening. Good enough and reasonably priced.

  • shemitrah shemitrah
  • Fish was not cooked properly! Mar 12, 2012

    Its a horrible experience when i ordered for Aiyla Fish fry. It was not cooked properly and when i asked the waiter that it is not cooked,. he said the raw parts are onions. I continued to argue and pointed out that its not cooked and finally he broke a apologetic smile. The quality of food is becoming very low here and of course the servers neither understand English nor Tamil.

  • athulnair athulnair
  • Food quality average Feb 27, 2012

    In the beginning the food was good, later on the quality went down and price became inverse of quality.
    Service varies from person to person (as I was a frequent visitor when I was in Chennai). Some will serve well (Lack of proper supervison). Attitude is anything can be served, people will not ask as there is no Kerala restaurant nearby.
    All food tastes similar, can't differentiate.

  • connoisseurchn connoisseurchn
  • Food quality going down with every visit Mar 16, 2011

    I have been a quasi-regular to Kumarakom. Almost every time I go there, I feel that the food quality is going down a one-way street. Agreed that the vegetarian meals still stay within reasonable limits of palatability and taste, but the non-vegetarian preparations leave a lot more to be desired each time I pay a visit, especially the Syrian Beef Fry, which at one time was their signature dish, gets worse every time I visit.It partly has to do with the quality of the meat they keep getting, I guess. Overall, I'll rate it just average. Decent value for money, but you can't go there looking for ambia... read more

  • Foodie.Libanais Foodie.Libanais
  • Awesome wholesome Kerala meals Feb 10, 2011

    Nowadays I have been frequenting Kumarakom, Velachery for their unlimited Kerala meals. If you ask me if it is authentic, I would say they are nearly there.

    Usually I go for their Kerala meals which is priced at 55rs. I find the price very reasonable for an unlimited Kerala meals in Chennai. Meals come with sambar, Pulisheri and rasam. The side dishes for the meals usually consist of aviyal (mixed vegetable cooked in cocconut paste), thoran/mezhukku purattiyathu (vegetable fried in oil with or without cocconut), Pickle and Kerala pappads. They have the option of Kerala rice or white rice.
    ... read more



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Chennai : All Zones| Chennai
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Chennai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :