• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Service:

  • Price:

  • Ambiance:

  • Food:


Review Highlights

  • bvgnsh bvgnsh
  • Decreasing Customer Service Mar 07, 2014

    First of all I have been a big fan of their Butter dosai and Sakkarai pongal and at least twice a month I do visit the T nagar branch..... When they opened their branch in Nanganaloor I was very happy as its close to my house.. However right from day one till yesterday (close to 3 months from opening) their service is getting poor day by day.

    They royally deny your Very common request of joining tables Only four are allowed to sit together... If you are even six then you need to share your table with others.. And you'll get another table only if you are damn lucky....

    The
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • vaaish90 vaaish90
  • Chutneys Chutneys All Over! Feb 07, 2014

    This place has been around for quite sometime now and it seems to be a favorite spot for not only the Chennai vasis but also for the tourists who flock around Chennai for some real “MADRAS EXPERIENCE”.

    How was the sapad? I have had rava dosa, sambar idly, vada and masala dosa and their USP is the variety of chutneys and of course the gunpowder. They have mint, ginger, tomato and coconut chutney and you often end up eating more just to have more of these chutneys. However their sambar is pretty normal and there’s nothing lip smacking about it.

    Ambiance: I know they already
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • PrakashVeer88 PrakashVeer88
  • Idle at its Best Nov 26, 2013

    If you are in Chennai and want to try some decent authentic south Indian food then this is the perfect place to visit. It's the best restaurant, where I had idli with a variety of chatni, sambar, podi ,their super soft idlis and variety dosas along with chutneys.The one in besant nagar has quick service, average waiting time is 15 min to get a seat during weekends. Always crowded during peak hours as there are limited number of seats inside and a number of people want to go and enjoy food.

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • Jeeva_Ananth Jeeva_Ananth
  • Yummy Idly Aug 24, 2013

    The Idli shop justifies its name - the idlies are extremely soft, fluffy and served hot with sambar and three varieties of chutney. For an additional charge chutney powder and oil is also provided.
    Murugan idli serves on banana leaves and gives a traditional feel. Varieties of dosas, uthappam and flavoured rice are also offered. One generally starts with hot and ready idli while providing the order for dosa varieties. Service is quick and efficient and the dosas are also crispy and tasty. An excellent location to make a meal out of tiffins.
    The coffee is regular chennai filter with chicor
    ... read more

  • Mr_Perfect_Here Mr_Perfect_Here
  • Relish Your Dream! Jul 14, 2013

    People told me time and time again that Murugan Idly Shop, T. Nagar is the best place to have delicious food in Chennai. Got the chance this midweek to test my friends review by visiting the place for a Brunch. I just can't find anything wrong with what they said! Sheer delicious and more importantly hygienic food is at our service! Variety and dedication at service, I feel more than tummy full and my mind is filled with awesomeness. The moment I left, my heart already decided to be at this place at least once a week. Class apart! LOVED IT ALL THE WAY!

  • markdult markdult
  • South Indian Bomb! Jun 17, 2013

    Dosa and filter coffee, the best thing I've ever had. The food here is South Indian and it is kickass!

    The ambiance is decent and the service is really good. The Molaga podi they give for dosa is also good.
    They undertake home deliveries too.

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • meghamookim meghamookim
  • Mouthwatering South Indian fare Mar 21, 2013

    You don't want to mess with the idly dude. That is what a meal at Murugan Idly will teach you. Made in the traditional south Indian way, with just the right amount of fluff and served with the perfect chutneys, these idlis melt in your mouth. But these people don't stop there. They go on to serve you crisp dosas, light upmas and to follow it up, home-made pal-khoa. This is place to go in Chennai for the best "tiffin", nevermind the fantastic value for money it offers.

  • vyaass93 vyaass93
  • WOW! Mar 12, 2013

    Authentic south indian tiffin shop that has made people go crazy about idlies. of late the prices have shot up, but when the times were good, murugan idly shop was thronged by people of all ages. i love this place and love it for the service and the chirpy ambience that is associated with a south indian eatery!

    you feel at home thanks to the waiters and the staff who are always on their toes with the buckets of sambhar and chutney ready to spread the condiments across the banana leaf waiting for you to slurp them all up!

    Thanks MIS!

  • cthiruma cthiruma
  • Good Idli shop Nov 19, 2012

    As its name suggests the place is good for South Indian tiffin variety Idli, dosa and onion uttappam.The different varieties of chutinies are the hilight,but cant really comment about the other food,as not really great and the place also can be maintained better,not really kept very clean.Parking is another problem here,but a good option for a quick bite in the evening or late night as they are open little late than the other ones.

  • Polash Polash
  • South Indian food for the tourist Nov 19, 2012

    Murugan Idli has really, really good crisp dosa's and soft idli's. Special mention for the chutneys that accompany them!! For a first timer to chennai, and an eye opener to "authentic" south Indian food, this place is it! Perfect after the hurried morning spent shopping in T-Nagar's saree and jewellery stores, the T Nagar outlet is a rather good place to go with the family for a relaxed lunch. The menu, however is quite overpriced. If you dont believe me, just ask any auto wallah if he would ever go to Murugan Idly just for the Idly!! There's another outlet at the Besant Nagar beach as well. If... read more



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Chennai : All Zones| Chennai
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Chennai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :