• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Food:

  • Price:

  • Ambiance:

  • Service:


Review Highlights

  • From Israel with love

    Amazing food and ambiance, perfect to chill and unwind under the stars.

  • Shiraz Cafe

    Shiraz offers outside seating and great ambiance during the day

  • aaroo4 aaroo4
  • Simply Divine... Nov 21, 2011

    Text from friend - Have you been to Moonrakers?

    Me: yes, ages ago with you!

    Friend: Ah, would you wanna go again, this time with P in tow[her nearly 3yr old adorable brat]?

    Me: yayy, lets go!



    I was at her house by 5.30, we were packed and ready to scoot by 5.45.. And as we wove around the city traffic, we caught up on "life this week" and during the conversation somehow chat steered towards Shiraz cafe and that i had not visited the place. We drove down till Mahabs, did a U turn and drove into the lane that houses the Cholamanadalam Artists village.
    ... read more

  • mk2289 mk2289
  • Quiet and cosy dining away from all the noise!! Nov 09, 2011

    Shiraz cafe, name inspired by the Iranian city of Shiraz, is not so much a popular place in Chennai, and definetly not for someone looking for a bashful restaurant. Instead a very quiet and cosy place in the middle of a lovely garden, amidst chirping birds and trees, it is a fine place 2 dine.........lovely peaceful ambience........best reserved for romantic getaways........

    We went there on a weekday evening, to grab a quick light refreshment.We were welcomed warmly by the host, an Iranian lady, who is the designer of this cafe. She enquired our preferences and suggested we try the hummus
    ... read more

  • djrocks2983 djrocks2983
  • Real value for money Nov 02, 2011

    me and couple of my friends had been there on a lazy sunday evening. though it is too far from where we stay, the food was surely worth our efforts. for the kind of food they served and the ambience they had it was a real worth of money. am really glad i got to know place and got to taste some real good Iranian cuisine. hope to be there again sometime soon

  • Tinkerbell7 Tinkerbell7
  • Healthy and Affordable Jul 13, 2011

    The Sunday brunch for 500 rupees is fantastic. Such a large spread, both veg and non veg. Yummy fresh juices with loads of ice. Awesome desserts. Not the regular stuff - very healthy and different although it takes a while to get used to the flavors. However, there's only outdoor seating with a few fans, although its lovely by the trees and garden, its wayy too hot for Chennai.

  • Goodiyergirl Goodiyergirl
  • Good, but not really Iranian Jun 21, 2011

    This post is going to be in verse,
    Apologies if this makes you curse.

    Enough of this, let us begin.
    For this week's review, we tried some Iranian cuisine (?)
    Drive down Eee Cee aaR,
    And you shall spot, many restaurants claiming to serve food from lands afar.

    Of Persian heritage is the Cafe Shiraz,
    The setting is pretty and the crowds sparse.
    The fruit slush which greeted us is exactly what we need (ed),
    Cold, soothing and especially fascinating was the Chia Seed.

    To whet our appetites they gave us some fried veggies and paneer skewer(s),
    F
    ... read more

  • Edmondo Edmondo
  • nothing special Jun 14, 2011

    Nothing Iranian.

    Are mosquitos included in Iranian Foods???

    Chai was okay. Too much of masala and colou in Pilaf.

    Nothing special and a normal menu we get in local malayalee muslim hotels and restaurants.


    Buhari and palm Shore has more Iranian menu than this Shiraz cafe.

  • Anujaa Anujaa
  • not much to say Jun 13, 2011

    Found few youngsters enjoying Hookah and trying to spend some time with the accompanied person.

    Lady owner shouting at their staffs in Hindi.

    Place is quite green. But we went around 8pm and we were invited by lots of mosquitos.

    Pilaf they served was not that good compared to any other Iranian foods. It was too dry and much of saffron scented.

    Kebabs are okay.

    The waiters can't understand english or proper hindi.

    The order taker was helping them quite often. Too much of time wasted and found bit expensive for the kind of foods they
    ... read more

  • madan80 madan80
  • Relaxed sunday lunch! Nov 23, 2010

    never having tasted iranian food before, I jumped at the opportunity of trying out a new cuisine. And so we jumped into a friends car and headed down ECR, with the only instruction that "its inside cholamandaman" on reaching the artist's village, we drove, trying to a)look for a sign which resembled a restaurant and b)a restaurant. finally on turning the corner we saw this huge gazeebo, and concluded this is the only restaurant looking place.
    thinking that we might be late, we went in, to find them still laying out the buffet. Being a sunday, we decided to "chill out" and well, the ambiance
    ... read more

  • passionforfood passionforfood
  • warm and friendly ambience; delectable fare Nov 21, 2010

    So this friend of mine could'nt stop raving about this very neatly tucked away little Iranian cafe inside the Cholamandalam Artists Village and I decided to give it a shot. Driving through maddening traffic along the ECR, I finally reached, a-mumbling-rumbling, the Shiraz Cafe by late noon. Our group of 4 hardly expected to find anything there, especially since the whole place bore a very deserted look. But as we realized that is part of the charm of the Shiraz Cafe. A very affable and friendly Iranian lady greeted us and almost like a very affectionate aunt, took us through the menu and said she... read more



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Chennai : All Zones| Chennai
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Chennai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :